CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the **Local Authority School Governor Nomination Panel** held on Monday, 3rd July, 2017 at Committee Suite 1 & 2, Westfields, Middlewich Road, Sandbach CW11 1HZ

PRESENT

Councillor G M Walton (Chairman) Councillor G Williams (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors I Faseyi, H Gaddum and D Mahon

Officers

Cherrie Creager, School Settings and Services Rachel Graves, Democratic Services Officer

1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Councillor A Harewood.

2 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

No members of the public were present.

3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

In the interests of openness all Members declared that they knew the applicants for Peeble Brook Primary School, Scholar Green Primary School, Westminster Nursey School, St John the Evangelist CofE Primary School and Mobberley CofE Primary School as they were council colleagues.

In the interest of openness Councillor Faseyi declared that she knew the applicant for the Dingle Primary School.

In the interest of openness Councillor Williams declared that he knew the applicants for the Bickerton Holy Trinity CofE Primary School and Daven Primary School.

In the interest of openness Councillors Walton, Gaddum and Mahon declared that they knew the applicant for Alderley Edge Primary School.

4 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

RESOLVED:

That the minutes of the meeting held on 6 February 2017 be confirmed as a correct record.

5 EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED:

That the press and public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item, in pursuant to Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended on the grounds that it involved the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972 and the public interest would not be served in publishing this information.

6 LOCAL AUTHORITY NOMINATIONS TO SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES

The Panel considered the Director's report on vacancies within Cheshire East maintained schools and academies and the applications received for nominations to identified posts.

RESOLVED:

That having regard to the statutory guidance in making nominations, the Panel approve the following:

1 Nomination for Appointment

CLEDFORD PRIMARY AND GAINSBOROUGH PRIMARY AND NURSERY SCHOOLS Mr Kevin Froggatt

ST GREGORY'S CATHOLIC PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr Gary Marston

ST MARY'S MIDDLEWICH CATHOLIC PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs Nicola Azakil

2 Nominations for Reappointment

ALDERLEY EDGE COMMUNITY PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs Sheila Keegan

BICKERTON HOLY TRINITY COFE PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr Nigel Briers BOSLEY ST MARY'S COFE PRIMARY SCHOOL Ms Penny Hughes

DAVEN PRIMARY SCHOOL Mr Bill Wolstencroft

ELWORTH COFE PRIMARY SCHOOL No nomination made

LITTLE BOLLINGTON COFE PRIMARY SCHOOL Mrs Jane Blackburn

MOBBERLEY COFE PRIMARY SCHOOL Cllr Jamie Macrae

PEBBLE BROOK PRIMARY SCHOOL Cllr Dorothy Flude

SCHOLAR GREEN PRIMARY SCHOOL Cllr Rhoda Bailey

SPRINGFIELD SPECIAL SCHOOL Decision deferred to allow for further information to be obtained, with the final decision delegated to the Chairman

ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST CHURCH OF ENGLAND PRIMARY SCHOOL Clir Alift Harewood

THE DINGLE PRIMARY SCHOOL Decision deferred to allow for further information to be obtained, with the final decision delegated to the Chairman

WESTMINSTER NURSERY SCHOOL Cllr Dorothy Flude

WILMSLOW HIGH SCHOOL Mr Sam Beythoun

7 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting is to be held on Monday 16 October 2017 in the Committee Suite at Westfields, Sandbach.

The meeting commenced at 2.00 pm and concluded at 2.47 pm

Councillor G M Walton (Chairman)